Community Service the Chemistry Way: Part 1

6 Oct

I finally finished editing my photos from this trip. So, even if it’s two weeks late, here is my narrative and photo documentation of the first day of the community service with fellow BS Chemistry students.

September 12, 2009

We were supposed to assemble at school on 7 am but I arrived late and got a scolding for it. After that, we immediately boarded our vehicle – the old, blue multicab owned by the Marine Center. There were 12 of us, including our professor, Mr. Tarongoy, the head of this research from the Marine Biology department, and the driver.

It took less than an hour to reach the capital of the municipality of Jasaan. There, we met with the local government officials inside the municipal hall.

My classmates during the meeting

My classmates during the meeting

Representative from the local government

Representative from the local government

Jasaan Municipal Hall

Jasaan Municipal Hall


After the meeting, we traveled again and made our way to the first research area (Greenwater Resort, Purok 1, San Antonio, Jasaan) for inspection and a briefing by the representative.

My classmate, Zyrah

My classmate, Zyrah

On the road

On the road

My unruly classmates :P

My unruly classmates 😛

View of the sea in San Antonio, Jasaan

View of the sea in San Antonio, Jasaan

The seafood restaurant overlooking the bay

The seafood restaurant overlooking the bay

As I would find out later, Purok 1, San Antonio, Jasaan would be the cleanest of the three areas of study. It is also the least populated.

The next stop was Bobontugan, Jasaan. This area is more populated and has both well-to-do and poor residents. The main source of livelihood of the poor is fishing. I met a man who asked us what we were going to do there. I told him we were going to study the seawater. He told us to please inform his community as soon as we finished our study because their fish catch was already low.

The 2nd area is an estuary - the mouth of the river that meets with the sea

The 2nd area is an estuary - the mouth of the river that meets with the sea

The team hikes up the river

The team hikes up the river

A local bathes with his pig in the river

A local bathes with his pig in the river

Young boys also bathe in the river

Young girls do the familys laundry in the river

Young girls doing the family's laundry in the river

One of the bigger houses in Bobontugan, Jasaan

One of the bigger houses in Bobontugan, Jasaan

Bobontugan also has antique houses that are still occupied today.

Bobontugan also has antique houses that are still occupied today.

Preserved Paypay fish hanging in front of a locals house

Preserved Paypay fish hanging in front of a local's house

The last area of interest is in Aplaya, Jasaan – the last barangay in the seaside municipality.

Instead of fishing, the common source of livelihood in Aplaya is making and selling macaroni chicharon.

Instead of fishing, the common source of livelihood in Aplaya is making and selling macaroni chicharon.

A factory is sighted in the horizon from Aplaya bay

A factory is sighted in the horizon from Aplaya bay

I spotted a strange plant growing on the Aplaya seashore.

I spotted a strange plant growing on the Aplaya seashore.

After all the traveling, we then had lunch in Zyrah’s home in Jasaan.

My classmate’s family gave us mangoes as a parting gift. Since they were still slightly unripe, I just put them on top of the table when I got home and didn’t touch them until they ripened. I gave them to my siblings and parents afterward.

I like activities like this that involve travel. It always presents new opportunities and new subjects to photograph.

As of today, my class has finished sampling from the areas and we won’t be going back until the next sampling. I have more photos and stories from the next 3 weeks after this first excursion.

One Response to “Community Service the Chemistry Way: Part 1”

  1. LaNeshe October 6, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    Sounds like an interesting trip.

Leave a Reply

