Can’t stop laughing!

10 Nov

I was looking through an article in Time.com about the Top Ten Game-Show Moments. One entry shows a portion of a Family Feud episode where the contestant absentmindedly answers ‘September’ to the question ‘During what month of pregnancy does a woman begin to look pregnant?’ and it just made me remember a humorous event in my elementary years.

We were going to have a declamation contest soon but only a few students would be chosen to represent the class. Individually, we had to present our chosen oratory piece before our English teacher so she could choose the final representatives.

My classmate, who goes by the name of Paulo, presented before me. I now know it was rude but, it turned out that he had not memorized his piece and went through it in such a funny way, with his facial expressions and gestures, that I started giggling. I couldn’t stop laughing even when he finished and it was my turn. I had memorized my piece – “Brutus Oration” -but it was all for naught because, in between lines, I would stop and laugh hysterically.

“Romans, countrymen, and lovers! hear me for my”

Hahahaha!

“cause, and be silent, that you may hear: believe me”

Hahahaha! (squats on the floor laughing)

“for mine honour, and have respect to mine honour, that”

(standing again) Hahaha! (clutches stomach while standing)

you may believe: censure me in your wisdom, and…”


Needless to say, Paulo and I weren’t chosen for the contest. It’s your fault, Paulo! 😛

(Full “Brutus Oration” here.)

Leave a Reply

